Member Organizations

The DeKalb Sycamore Area Transportation Study (DSATS) is made up of the municipal governments that make up the DeKalb Urban Area, DeKalb County, major educational organizations, and the transit providers in the DeKalb region.  Below is a profile of each member organization.

City of DeKalb

DeKalb is the largest community in the DeKalb Urbanized Area and is the fiscal agent for DSATS.

City of Sycamore

Sycamore is the 2nd largest community in the DeKalb Urbanized Area.

Town of Cortland

Cortland is the 3rd largest town in Illinois and is a part of DSATS.

DeKalb County

The DeKalb-Sycamore Urbanized area is located in the center of DeKalb County, and Sycamore is the county seat.

Northern Illinois University

Northern Illinois University (NIU) is located in the City of DeKalb and is part of the Illinois Public University System.

Northern Illinois University Student Association

The NIU Student Association (SA) promotes the welfare of students on NIU’s campus. The NIU SA Transportation Department oversees the Huskie Bus Service.

Kishwaukee College

Kishwaukee College began 40 years ago on 120 acres of rich farmland and has grown into a dynamic campus that promotes lifelong learning for nearly 11,000 students each academic year.

Voluntary Action Center (VAC)

The Voluntary Action Center (VAC) of DeKalb County provides fixed-route deviated and door-to-door para-transit services in DeKalb County through its TransVAC program.

DeKalb Taylor Municipal Airport

The DeKalb Taylor Municipal Airport provides regional airport service to the general aviation community in the DSATS region.

Illinois Department of Transportation

The Illinois Department of Transportation is a partner with DSATS in developing and implementing the transportation projects within the DSATS region.

DeKalb Sycamore Area Transportation Study (DSATS) logo